Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website. (Susan Murad)
Monday, May 7, 2018 - 2:30pm
RIT/NTID honor society inducts 26 new members

Rochester Institute of Technology's National Technical Institute for the Deaf inducted 26 new members into the Delta Xi chapter of the Epsilon Pi Tau honor society at a ceremony on May 1.

Epsilon Pi Tau recognizes the academic excellence of students in fields devoted to the study of technology and the preparation of practitioners for the technology professions. Epsilon Pi Tau also extends the honor of membership to outstanding practitioners in the technology professions, to scholars, and/or to persons who have significantly supported or advanced technology professions.

With support from DeafTEC, an NSF-sponsored center at RIT/NTID providing resources for high schools and community colleges that educate deaf and hard-of-hearing students in STEM-related programs, the Delta Xi chapter of the honor society was established at RIT in 2015 for deaf and hard-of-hearing students in associate-level NTID technology programs. This chapter is the only chapter of Epsilon Pi Tau specifically for deaf and hard-of-hearing students and the first NTID honor society.

"It is one of the highlights of the academic year to welcome our talented, hard-working students into the EPT honor society," said Gerry Buckley, NTID president and RIT vice president and dean. "It is a validation of their hours of studying and academic endeavors in and out of the classroom. They make their families and RIT/NTID proud."

            Student honorees are:

  • Miko Arayata of Quezon City, Philippines; arts and imaging studies
  • Megan Armstrong of Webster, N.Y.; laboratory science technology
  • Cassandra Banania of Chino Hills, Calif.; arts and imaging studies
  • Courtney Boyer of Decatur, Ga.; computer-aided drafting technology
  • Taher Chowdhury of Ozone Park, N.Y.; accounting technology
  • Gabriella Ertle of Aliso Viejo, Calif.; management information systems
  • Demeisha Heath of Brooklyn, N.Y.; business technology
  • Macee Helmick of West Henrietta, N.Y.; business technology
  • Phillip Ho of San Jose, Calif.; computer-aided drafting technology
  • Israelle Johnson of Baltimore, Ohio; laboratory science technology
  • Otto Kingstedt of Washington, D.C., and Stockholm, Sweden; arts and imaging sciences
  • Abbigail Kolar of Kearney, Neb.; business
  • Ping Liu of Harbin, China; applied computer technology
  • Dulce Mireles of Enigma, Ga.; arts and imaging sciences
  • Aaron Parker of Lakewood, Ohio; mobile application development
  • Philip Pham of San Jose, Calif.; 3D graphics technology
  • Victoria Pon of Queens, N.Y.; arts and imaging studies
  • Mark Redekas of Manchester, Conn.; applied computer technology
  • Kathryn Richer of North Syracuse, N.Y., computer-aided drafting technology
  • Sabrina Serna of Lake View Terrace, Calif.; laboratory science technology
  • Signe Tarmey of Charlestown, N.H.; laboratory science technology
  • Michael Wentland of Lynnwood, Wash.; applied mechanical technology
  • Mia White of Littleton, Colo.; business accounting

Faculty honorees are:

  • Mitchell Bacot, instructional/support faculty, NTID science and mathematics department
  • Edward Mineck, interim chairperson, NTID visual communication studies department
  • Mark Pfuntner, chairperson, NTID business studies department
News Tags: