Katherine Gardner
Tuesday, May 14, 2019 - 2:02pm

Saunders College of Business is proud to recognize the achievements of the college, faculty and staff during the 2018-2019 academic year. It is through the hard work and dedication of these individuals that Saunders is so frequently ranked among the best.







Length of Service Recognition

5 Years

Matthew Arlauckas
Heidi Boland
Emily Cokeley
Philip Gelsomino II

10 Years

Janette Frank
Rajendran Murthy
Joy Olabisi

15 Years

Robert Boehner
Stephen Luxmore
Dana Pelliccia

20 Years

David Ballard
John Ettlie

30 Years

Ashok Robin

35 Years

A. Erhan Mergen

40 Years

Robert Barbato

45 Years

Daniel Tessoni



Graduate Programs

#93 US News & World Report

TFE Times
#16 MS Management 
#21 MS Finance
#31 MS Computational Finance
#47 MS Accounting
#94 MBA

Undergraduate Programs

  • US News & World Report ranked Saunders #62 in the nation... ranking #1 in Western New York!
  • College Factual, the precious data provider for USA Today, moved Saunders' MIS Program up 4 spots in their rankings of MIS programs this year, coming in at #6 nationally.

Online EMBA Program

#8 Princeton Review
#13 Poet & Quants
#26 US News and World Report
Tier One – CEO Magazine

Faculty Awards

Provost’s Learning Innovation Grants (PLIG):

Provost’s Leadership Opportunity Grant:

  • Karthik Namasivayam received an Opportunity Grant for his research on “Advanced Leadership Development in Higher Education Conference”

Guided Online Learning Development (GOLD) Graduates:

Sean Hansen
Manlu Liu

Faculty Promotions

Tenured and Promotion to Associate Professor 

Malarvizhi Hirudayaraj (HRD), Muhammet Kesgin (HTM), Torrence Sparkman (HRD), Yang Yu (MIS) were all awarded tenure and promoted to Associate Professor within Saunders.

Research Professorships

Raj Murthy was awarded the McClure Professorship in Marketing. This award recognizes a professor that engages in activities to enhance the national reputation and visibility of Saunders College marketing programs and the McClure Professorship, provides leadership in advancing marketing education and scholarship, and leads and coordinates the biennial McClure Distinguished Lectureship in Marketing.

SCB Zutes Award Recipients 

Stan Hoi, Archana Jain, Manlu Liu, Joy Olabisi, Zhi Tang, and Yang Yu each received a Zutes Award. This award recognizes and celebrates the output and quality of intellectual contributions and fosters continuing achievement.

Faculty Scholarship Report’s Featured Faculty Member

Saunders College recognizes the research productivity of Yang Yu throughout the year.

RIT-Sponsored Research Services Boot Camp Seed Grant

Dr. Duygu Akdevelioglu received the Seed Grants. Akdevelioglu's research looks at “Wearable Technologies and Consumer Engagement in Social Media”.

RIT Provost’s Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award

Ann Hager received the Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award for her outstanding commitment to faculty mentoring by actively helping less experienced faculty.

RIT Eisenhart Award for Outstanding Teaching

Hao Zhang received the highest honor to be bestowed for teaching at RIT in recognition of his excellence in teaching.

Research Grants

Jerrie Hsieh – “Impact of Individual Risk Profile, Knowledge of Airbnb, and Perceived Risk on Purchase Decision Making in Sharing Economy: USA and China Comparison”
Manlu Liu – “Examining Blockchain Adoption Strategy in Auditing Industry through Big Data”
Qian Song – “Role of cultural factors in auditor-client negotiation”
Rong Yang – “Employee Protection Regulations & Audit Pricing:  Worldwide Evidence”
Hao Zhang – “Exploring Effects of Social Capital on Corporate Decisions &  Exploring  Effect of SEC on Financial Markets and Corporate Behaviors”

Saunders Awards

Faculty Certificates: Outstanding Teaching Effectiveness

Shal KhazanchiHao ZhangBob BarbatoJames Huang and Bill Dresnack were recognized for their high effectiveness in the classroom.

Faculty Certificates: Exceptional Student Impact

Philip GelsominoLaurie DwyerErhan MergenSteve Luxmore and Zeke Leo received recognition for the impact they have on their students and the support they give.

Faculty Certificates: Exemplary Adjunct Teaching

John StriebichAnthonyTestaJames Minno and Gary Schwingel received certificates celebrating their excellence as adjunct instructors in Saunders College.

Staff Impact Awards

Kathy Estabrooks was awarded the Outstanding Staff Award for being meticulous and methodical, streamlining processes, and having a calming influence on others. She has a strong institutional knowledge and work ethic, knows where to get answers and who to get them from. Kathy speaks up on issues that impact students, she has a great ability to work with others, and readily volunteers for Saunders events. She does whatever it takes to help and make sure college is represented well.